Thursday, October 15, 2015

The 1879 Zulu War: through the eyes of the Illustrated London News




By now you have finished reading the last book that I gave you... The Horns of the Buffalo and you are itching to get your teeth into the next exciting bit of literary drama.

Ron Lock and Peter Quantrill have put together an amazing collection of drawings all executed during 1879 by field artists working for the Illustrated London News and they have woven their tales of war around these images that so graphically took their news to the world at the time.

Amazon describes the book as follows:

The fascination of the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879 continues unabated. It was impassioned almost 40 years ago by the film Zulu, starring Stanley Baker and a yet-to-be-discovered Michael Caine. Zulu has been shown—and continues to be shown—on British television more than any other feature film. In the USA and elsewhere it has become a cult movie. Moreover, it created a near avalanche of books, articles, lectures, documentaries and websites that has come close to being an industry. But the basis of all this activity was, in fact, generated 120 years ago by the weekly magazines of Victorian England such as the Illustrated London News.

Although copies of the original magazines are much sought after and have become collectors’ items, the compilers have painstakingly acquired every issue pertaining to the conflict and, having extracted every report and illustration on the subject, have produced, with an index, and in chronological order, a unique record of the Anglo-Zulu War, albeit through the eyes of a colonial Victorian age.


This is a book that is in our collection and we often flick through its pages and have even been known to try and identify whether the terrain has changed much over the last 136 years and it is so amazing to see how solid the earth is and how unchanged the landscape that has not been corrupted by man and the march of time.

The book is unfortunately not available on Amazon but the authors Ron Lock and Peter Quantrill market their own books.

Ron Lock's email address  where you can contact him for any of his publications.

We hope that you enjoy the experience as much as we do.


Saturday, October 10, 2015

Books About Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battles





After 12 years of navigating the battlefields of Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana it was time to start updating and revamping our information. First in line has been our List of books on the Battles and we were amazed how that list has grown over the years.

We are also sure that our guests, past and present would benefit from this update and what better way to do this than through our blog. Over the next few weeks I will give you lists of the books, a few at a time with a little bit of background of each one.

This is of course so that you can start your own collection of books, or start a reading marathon or even use the subject for a book club.

For your convenience I am linking each one of the books to the place that you can buy it online, most of which will be Amazon and if its not available on Amazon I will try to track down where it's at.

First on our list is  The Horns of the Buffalo by John Wilcox  a fiction novel and the write up on Amazon describes the book as follows:

British redcoats confront the Zulus at Rorke’s Drift.
In 1879, the British redcoats are universally regarded as the finest fighting force in the world. Among them is Lieutenant Simon Fonthill, dispatched to South Africa with much to prove: for Colonel Covington, his former Commanding Officer, has slanderously branded him a coward. In the Cape, tension is high. The Zulus, an independent nation of magnificently militant tribesmen, threaten the colonial government’s vision of a united South Africa. And Simon has been chosen for a particularly dangerous mission: to travel deep into Zululand to discover the intentions of the king. Simon encounters violence and imprisonment before he is faced with his greatest challenge. Escaping from the massacre at the Battle of Isandlwana, he must warn the tiny garrison at Rorke’s Drift of the threat posed by advancing Zulu impis. He has a chance to prove Covington a liar, but he may pay the ultimate price.
In the tradition of C.S. Forester and Bernard Cornwell, this rousing 19th-century British army adventure introduce Lieutenant Simon Fonthill, a hero fit to stand shoulder to shoulder with Hornblower and Sharpe.

Well worth a read if one sees the other novels by John Wilcox that seem to take the reader around the world's historical conflicts.

Pour a glass of wine, look for a couch, get your feet up and enjoy.