Saturday, October 10, 2015

Books About Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battles





After 12 years of navigating the battlefields of Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana it was time to start updating and revamping our information. First in line has been our List of books on the Battles and we were amazed how that list has grown over the years.

We are also sure that our guests, past and present would benefit from this update and what better way to do this than through our blog. Over the next few weeks I will give you lists of the books, a few at a time with a little bit of background of each one.

This is of course so that you can start your own collection of books, or start a reading marathon or even use the subject for a book club.

For your convenience I am linking each one of the books to the place that you can buy it online, most of which will be Amazon and if its not available on Amazon I will try to track down where it's at.

First on our list is  The Horns of the Buffalo by John Wilcox  a fiction novel and the write up on Amazon describes the book as follows:

British redcoats confront the Zulus at Rorke’s Drift.
In 1879, the British redcoats are universally regarded as the finest fighting force in the world. Among them is Lieutenant Simon Fonthill, dispatched to South Africa with much to prove: for Colonel Covington, his former Commanding Officer, has slanderously branded him a coward. In the Cape, tension is high. The Zulus, an independent nation of magnificently militant tribesmen, threaten the colonial government’s vision of a united South Africa. And Simon has been chosen for a particularly dangerous mission: to travel deep into Zululand to discover the intentions of the king. Simon encounters violence and imprisonment before he is faced with his greatest challenge. Escaping from the massacre at the Battle of Isandlwana, he must warn the tiny garrison at Rorke’s Drift of the threat posed by advancing Zulu impis. He has a chance to prove Covington a liar, but he may pay the ultimate price.
In the tradition of C.S. Forester and Bernard Cornwell, this rousing 19th-century British army adventure introduce Lieutenant Simon Fonthill, a hero fit to stand shoulder to shoulder with Hornblower and Sharpe.

Well worth a read if one sees the other novels by John Wilcox that seem to take the reader around the world's historical conflicts.

Pour a glass of wine, look for a couch, get your feet up and enjoy.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your feedback/debate/comments are most valued. Thank you for taking the time to read my posts and to comment.